top of page
Writer's pictureScott (Swazipond)

Must Watch: Liyana (film)

A movie made in the heart of eSwatini (Swaziland)


I have followed this film’s journey on social media. I watched Liyana receive awards and accolades as they traveled the world winning hearts at film festivals, and I waited patiently for the chance to see it with my own eyes. My chance finally arrived as the film returned home to the Kingdom of eSwatini. It was well worth the wait. Liyana surpassed my expectations and deeply touched my heart.


What is Liyana about?


Liyana is a documentary that empowered a group of Swazi children to become storytellers. With guidance, their young minds collectively craft the tale of a Swazi girl named Liyana. They decide all aspects of Liyana’s life, including the color of her mud hut, and they plot her daring journey to save her family.


This film is a seamless ballet between documentary and animated tale. As the children develop Liyana’s journey, she comes to life through gorgeous animated scenes that are simply breathtaking. But make no mistake, this is no simple cartoon hybrid, this is a complex narration of the real life situation facing thousands of Swazi children. HIV/AIDS has ravaged this tiny country, contributing to the massive number of orphaned children.



Why do I recommend Liyana?


The film’s primary setting at The New Life Homes orphanage is a short drive from where I live, adding to the profound emotional impact that Liyana had on me. This is the story of my community, my neighbors and my friends. These beautiful children have ample reason to concede to despair, but instead they radiate with hope and resolve. For every drop of darkness, there is a ray of light.


Liyana illustrates that you do not need to be defined by the tragedies in your life. You are the storyteller, so be strong, be brave. For my part, I walked away inspired to be a more understanding person. It strengthened my resolve to bring hope to others and to be a source of joy in my community.



Even though Liyana touches on difficult subjects, it’s never explicit and it’s safe for young and old alike. It’s not defined by the difficulties, but instead by the victories. The power of this movie lies within the magnetic children. They stirred me to laughter and tears, along with every feeling in between!


I encourage you to find a screening in your area and allow Liyana to tell you a story that needs to be heard! Come see the faces that inspire Swazipond.


Siyabonga kakhulu (thank you very much),


Scott


31 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page